Mane & Salah on CAF Men’s Player of the Year award shortlist

4 Min Read
Salah and Mane

Mueez Ajao

– Sadio Mane heads a list of 10 nominees for the African Footballer of the Year award, to be handed out later this month for the first time in three years, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) announced on Monday.

– Mane, who won the last award in 2019, will be favoured to win again after a season in which he helped Senegal to their first Africa Cup of Nations title plus qualification to the World Cup in Qatar.

– He also had cup success with Liverpool at club level but has since moved to Bayern Munich.

- Advertisement -

Also Read: Salah & Mane on CAF’s Player of the Year list

– His former teammates Naby Keita and Mohamed Salah are also among the 10 nominees, along with Manchester City’s Riyad Mahrez.

– Salah won the award in 2017 and 2018 and Mahrez in 2016.

– The COVID-19 pandemic and decision to switch the qualification period from the calendar year to the 2021-22 season is the reason why there has been no award for the last three years, CAF officials told Reuters.

– The winner will be decided by a judging panel made up of members of CAF’s technical committee, press and coaches and captains of Africa’s 54 national teams and will be announced at a gala in Rabat, Morocco on July 21.

Caf awards 2022 – Full list of nominees

Player of the Year (Men)
* Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
* Karl Toko Ekambi (Cameroon & Lyon)
* Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon & Al Nassr)
* Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
* Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)
* Sebastien Haller (Ivory Coast & Borussia Dortmund)
* Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Paris St-Germain)
* Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)
* Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
* Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)
Interclub Player of the Year (Men)
* Tiago Azulao (Petro Atletico)
* Karim Konate (ASEC Mimosas)
* Aliou Dieng (Al Ahly)
* Ali Maaloul (Al Ahly)
* Percy Tau (Al Ahly)
* Mohamed Sherif (Al Ahly)
* Mohamed El Shenawy (Al Ahly)
* Achraf Dari (Wydad Athletic Club)
* Yahya Jabrane (Wydad Athletic Club)
* Zouheir El Moutaraji (Wydad Athletic Club)
Young Player of the Year (Men)
* Dango Ouattara (Burkina Faso & Lorient)
* Kamaldeen Sulemana (Ghana & Rennes)
* Karim Konate (Ivory Coast & ASEC/RB Salzburg)
* Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Metz)
* Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United)
Coach of the Year (Men)
* Carlos Queiroz (Egypt)
* Pitso Mosimane (Al Ahly)
* Tom Saintfiet (The Gambia)
* Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club)
* Aliou Cisse (Senegal)
National Team of the Year
* Burkina Faso
* Cameroon
* Egypt
* Morocco
* Senegal
Club of the Year
* Petro Atletico (Angola)
* Al Ahly (Egypt)
* RS Berkane (Morocco)
* Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)
* Orlando Pirates (South Africa)

Share this Article