Oyo APC crisis: Akin Oke stings Akala, out with list of parallel EXCO


Another group of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Oyo State led by Chief Akin Oke, state Caretaker Chairman, has affirmed its parallel list of new state executive members based on the zoning template.

This comes hours after a list emerged from a meeting held in the Ibadan home of former Governor Alao Akala.

The list was affirmed in Ibadan at a stakeholder meeting held at the party Secretariat on Friday in compliance with the directive of the National Secretariat.

The 11-man committee directed by the APC National Secretariat to ratify the harmonised state executive list had on Friday held two parallel meetings in Ibadan.

NAN reports that Chief Adebayo Alao-Akala, former Governor of Oyo State, some zonal leaders and members of Oyo APC Elders’ Advisory Council of the party held their meeting at the former governor’s residence in Ibadan.

Others at the Alao-Akala’s residence meeting were Chief (Dr) Samuel Ogbuku, the Chairman, Oyo APC State Congress Appeal Panel and Lawan Gambo, the Chairman, APC State Congress Committee.

Also, in another development, the State Caretaker Chairman held another meeting with the immediate past Deputy Governor in the state, Chief Moses Adeyemo and seven zonal leaders at the party secretariat.

Commenting, Oke said: “We have been asked to bring the authentic harmonised list of state Executive Committee, which would reflect the true wish of the generality of party membership.

“Today, we have affirmed the list of State Executives brought by the zonal leaders in accordance with the zoning template earlier agreed upon by stakeholders.”

He said that the party had demonstrated its readiness to put its house in order and encourage all the stakeholders to work together as a team with a view to reclaiming power in 2023.

Oke said that Alao-Akala, who was absent at the meeting had been invited twice to the meeting, but absented himself on the two occasions.

The outgoing party chairman explained that Alao-Akala, who earlier fixed a meeting for Tuesday, refused them entry when he (Oke) led the seven zonal leaders to his residence.

Oke said the experience made the National Secretariat of the party to direct that another meeting should be held at the party secretariat.

He said that in spite of Akala’s position, all the seven zonal leaders of the party had affirmed the list from their respective zones.

Oke said that the Appeal Committee members that attended the meeting at Alao-Akala’s residence were not in Ibadan on the mandate and directive of the National Secretariat of the party.

According to him, the protocol is that officials from the party secretariat on assignment to a state will report to the party secretariat in the state.

“It is the duty of the state chapter of the party to provide accommodation, transportation and logistics for anyone or team coming to a state for assignment.

“For elections, they will also host a stakeholders’ meeting ahead of such exercise,” he said.

Oke said that no one reported to him and in such case, it was clear that they were not in Ibadan on the mandate of the National Secretariat.

“What they did at Alao-Akala’s residence today was just to further manifest their undemocratic traits.

“They brought the same Lawan Gambo and his friends as Appeal Committee members today; we have confirmed that the National Secretariat did not send them to the state for any assignment,” he said.

Oke said that justice would prevail and all the anti-democratic forces in their party would be exposed.

He urged genuine party members and the general public to remain calm as everything would be alright in no time.

Among the zonal leaders present were Alhaji Bashir Ayinde; Chief Timothy Jolaoso; Alhaji Abu Gbadamosi; Chief Kunle Sanda; Mogaji Banji Olorode; C.A Ajibade and B.A Ajibade.