Senate probes allegation of assault against Sen. Elisha

Senate approves N1.678trn revenue target for NCS

The Senate has commenced probe into the allegation of assault levelled against one of its members, Sen. Elisha Abbo Cliff (PDP-Adamawa).

The President of Senate, Dr Ahmad Lawan, announced the composition of a 7-man adhoc committee at plenary on Wednesday to investigate the matter.

Elisha was alleged to have beaten a lady recently at an adult toy shop in Abuja, sometimes in March, after the video went viral on Tuesday.

Sen. Uba Sani (APC-Kaduna), had raised the issue under matters of privileges.

Sani drew the attention of his colleagues to how development had brought the entire Senate to negative public image and ridicule before the world.

According to him, between Tuesday when the video went viral and early hours of Wednesday, he had received over 111 calls from friends and associates wanting to know what truly transpired.

The lawmaker urged the Senate to take prompt action on the issue and redeemed its image.

However, Lawan in his remark said that “whatever that was seen or read on the social media and the mainstream media on the matter remained allegations unless they were investigated.”

Sen. Opeyemi Bamidele (APC-Ekiti), in his contribution also called for full investigation of the matter.


He said only a full-scale investigation would help the Senate unravel the true picture of the story.

Also, Minority Leader, Sen. Enyinnaya Abaribe (PDP- Abia), said the Senate rules provided how all senators should conduct themselves in public.

He, however, opined that no conclusion should be reached until an investigation was carried out.

Lawan, in his further comment said that the 9th Senate would not condone any act of violence against Nigerians.

According to him, the panel will afford the embattled lawmaker to present his own side of the story.

He added that the decision would also provide a platform for the lady allegedly assaulted to appear before the panel members to prove her case.

Following this, President of the Senate announced the panel to be headed by Sen. Samuel Egwu (PDP- Ebonyi).

READ ALSO: Atiku condemns Abbo’s alleged assault

Other members are: Sen. Oluremi Tinubu (APC-Lagos), Sen. Matthew Urhoghide (PDP-Edo), Sen. Stella Oduah (PDP- Anambra), Sen. Mohammed-Sani Musa (APC-Niger), Sen. Danladi Sankara (APC-Jigawa) and Sen. Halliru Jika (APC-Bauchi) as members.

He said they have two weeks to conclude their work and report back to the senate.