2019: 9 more political parties join CUPP


Nine more political parties on Monday in Abuja joined the Conference of United Political Parties (CUPP).

The political parties that signed the Coalition Memorandum of Understanding are: United Patriot (CUP); Save Nigeria Congress (SNG); Peoples Coalition Party (CPC); Reform and Advancement Party (RAP); We the People of Nigeria (WTPN) and Alliance of Social Democrats (ASD).

The Secretary of the Coalition, Mr Peter Ameh, announced that the other political parties’ that joined the coalition which were also scheduled to sign the MoU, sent their apologies due to flight delay from Lagos.

The parties are: Change Party (CP); New Generation Party (NGP) and Alliance National Party (ANP).

The Chairman of the CUPP Steering Committee, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola, while receiving the new political parties said that with additional parties, the coalition now had 48 members.

Oyinlola said that membership of the coalition had grown steadily since it was formed since July.

“Today’s event is a pointer to the fact that we are on the side of the people and God in this movement of national redemption.

“While we welcome our new colleagues we wish to reiterate that CUPP is an equal opportunity coalition; there is no seniority in CUPP.

“What we have is a situation where every member is carried along and decisions are taken on consensus. I assure our new members that your coming in late will not in any way be of disadvantage,’’ he said.

He pledged that the coalition would work hard to ensure that the coalition consensus candidate, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) wins the 2019 presidential election.


Share this Article